Profile: Evelyn Webster, CILIP Y&H visits coordinator

My name is Evelyn, and I’m the library officer for the Leeds office of Pinsent Masons LLP.
Pinsent Masons is a large corporate law firm, with eight library and nine research staff members spread out over the UK offices. I spend a lot of my time finding cases and articles for our lawyers, troubleshooting our online resources, cataloguing, and, of course, updating looseleafs
I moved to Leeds in October 2013 to start this job. Previously I was in Manchester, doing my masters in Library and Information Management at MMU, and before that I was in Oxford, working as the graduate trainee at the Oxford Union Library. I have lived in the Yorkshire and Humberside region before, though; I did my undergraduate degree at the University of York (without being too specific about dates, I experienced the JB Morrell library before its shiny refurbishment…)
I have been extremely fortunate over the course of my fledgling career to have attended many excellent CPD events, and visited some stunning libraries, so I wanted to try to give a bit back to the library community. As part of the CILIP YHMN committee, I hope to help organise visits, tours and talks to show off the fantastic range of libraries in this region.
If you have a suggestion for a library we could visit, or you could volunteer to give a tour of your own library, please let me know by emailing cilipyh@gmail.com. Watch out for emails, tweets and blog posts about future visits!
Evelyn Webster
Leave a Reply

